Okhahoma is the first musical written by the team of composer Richard Rodgers and librettist Oscar Hammerstein II. The musical is based on Lynn Riggs’ 1931 play, Green Grow the Lilacs. Set in farm country outside the town of Claremore, Oklahoma Territory, in 1906, it tells the story of farm girl Laurey Williams and her courtship by two rival suitors, cowboy Curly McLain and the sinister and frightening farmhand Jud Fry. A secondary romance concerns cowboy Will Parker and his flirtatious fiancée, Ado Annie.

The original Broadway production opened on March 31, 1943. It was a box-office smash and ran for an unprecedented 2,212 performances, later enjoying award-winning revivals, national tours, foreign productions and an Academy Award-winning 1955 film adaptation. It has long been a popular choice for school and community productions. Rodgers and Hammerstein won a special Pulitzer Prize for Oklahoma! in 1944.


Act One

  • “Oh What a Beautiful Mornin’” – Curly
  • “The Surrey with the Fringe on Top” – Laurey, Curly & Aunt Eller
  • “Kansas City” – Will Parker, Aunt Eller, Male Ensemble
  • “I Cain’t Say No” – Ado Annie
  • “Many a New Day” – Laurey and Female Ensemble
  • “It’s a Scandal! It’s an Outrage!” – Ali Hakim and Male Ensemble
  • “People Will Say We’re in Love” – Laurey and Curly
  • “Poor Jud Is Daid” – Curly and Jud Fry
  • “Lonely Room” – Jud Fry
  • “Out of My Dreams” – Laurey and Female Ensemble
  • “Dream Ballet” – Laurey and *Dream Figures

Act Two

  • “The Farmer and the Cowman” – Andrew Carnes, Aunt Eller, Curly, Gertie Cummings, Will, Ado Annie, Laurey, Ensemble
  • “All Er Nuthin’” – Will and Ado Annie
  • “People Will Say We’re in Love” Reprise – Laurey and Curly
  • “Oklahoma!” – Curly, Laurey, Aunt Eller, Ensemble
  • “Finale Ultimo” (“Oh What a Beautiful Mornin”, “People Will Say We’re in Love”) – Company
ListenSong TitleArtistGenreBVPriceBuy