Irish Rovers

The Irish Rovers is a group of Irish musicians that originated in Toronto, Canada, in 1963.

Founding member George Millar and his cousin Ian are both from Ballymena, Davey Walker from Armagh, Sean O’Driscoll from Cork, Gerry O’Connor from Dundalk, with Morris Crum from Carnlough and percussionist Fred Graham from Belfast. Flute and whistle player Geoffrey Kelly was born in Dumfries, Scotland.

In 1966, they released their debut album,  appropriately titled, The First Of The Irish Rovers (Decca), recorded live at “The Icehouse” in Pasadena.

In 1968, the group were named Canada’s, “Folk Group of the Year”, and the following year, they received a Grammy nomination for  “Folk Performance of the Year”.

By 1989 they had hosted three international television series, recorded 25 albums and had represented Canada at five world Expos. In recognition for a quarter century of contributions to the International music world, The Irish Rovers won the Performing Rights Organization’s (PROCAN) ‘Harold Moon Award’. In ‘89, their “Silver Anniversary” Collection Album featured backing by The Chieftains.

Backing Tracks – Drunken Sailor … Whiskey In The Jar


ListenSong TitleArtistGenreBVPriceBuy