Dream Theatre is a progressive metal band from USA.

Their debut album When Dream and Day Unite was released in 1989. Despite mixed reviews, it was a moderate success, reaching number 117 on the Billboard 200 chart. The album also helped the band gain a dedicated fanbase and established them as a promising new act in the progressive metal genre.

After their third album release in 1994 the members of Dream Theater separated for several months and became involved with a variety of outside projects. But they managed to begin working on their next studio album. The band reunited in May 1997 to start recording their fifth album, “Falling into Infinity”, which was released in September 1997.

Despite the hiatus and individual projects, the members of Dream Theater remained committed to the band and continued to push their musical boundaries. The diverse array of outside projects allowed each member to explore different styles and influences, ultimately contributing to the band’s evolution and growth.

Dream Theater has sold over 12 million records worldwide and has received three Grammy Award nominations (including one win in 2022).

  • When Dream and Day Unite (1989)
  • Images and Words (1992)
  • Awake (1994)
  • Falling into Infinity (1997)
  • Metropolis Pt. 2: Scenes from a Memory (1999)
  • Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence (2002)
  • Train of Thought (2003)
  • Octavarium (2005)
  • Systematic Chaos (2007)
  • Black Clouds & Silver Linings (2009)
  • A Dramatic Turn of Events (2011)
  • Dream Theater (2013)
  • The Astonishing (2016)
  • Distance over Time (2019)
  • A View from the Top of the World (2021)

Backing Tracks – Spirit Carries On

ListenSong TitleArtistGenreBVPriceBuy