Soul Asylum is an American alternative rock band formed in 1981 by school friends Dan Murphy, Karl Mueller and Dave Pirner. Although they produced many songs, they didn’t come to prominence until 1992 when they released the 5th song off their album Grave Dancers Union. The single “Runaway Train” reached No 5 on the Billboard Hot 100 and earned Soul Asylum a Grammy Award for Best Rock Song in 1994.

In 1995, Soul Asylum carried on their success  with Let Your Dim Light Shine, which climbed to no. 6 on the Billboard 200 and featured the No.1  track “Misery”. After releasing Candy From a Stranger in 1998, the band members took a break from recording and didn’t release a new studio album for the better part of seven years.

They reunited in 2004 to record their ninth album.  Up until this point, Soul Asylum had always included Dan, Karl, and Dave, despite several line-up changes. During this year Karl was diagnosed with throat cancer and passed away after finishing his work on the new album. The Silver Lining was released in 2006 and was dedicated to his memory. The new album titled Delayed Reaction was released on July 17, 2012.

Soul Asylum Backing Tracks – Misery … Promises Broken … Runaway Train … Somebody To Shove … Without A Trace

ListenSong TitleArtistGenreBVPriceBuy