Joy Division were a British rock band formed in 1976.

The band consisted of Ian Curtis (vocals and occasional guitar), Bernard Sumner (guitar and keyboards), Peter Hook (bass guitar and backing vocals), and Stephen Morris (drums and percussion).

Joy Division’s sound was heavily influenced by punk rock, but they quickly developed a unique post-punk sound that blended dark and atmospheric elements with catchy melodies. Their music often delved into themes of alienation, despair, and existentialism, with Curtis’s haunting and introspective lyrics becoming a defining characteristic of the band.

The band gained a cult following in the late 1970s, particularly after the release of their debut album, “Unknown Pleasures,” in 1979. The album is now considered a classic of the post-punk genre and features iconic tracks such as “She’s Lost Control” and “Transmission.”

Tragically, in May 1980, Curtis took his own life at the age of 23, just before the band was set to embark on their first U.S. tour. In the aftermath of his death, the remaining members decided to continue as a new band, eventually renaming themselves New Order.

Though Joy Division’s career was cut short, their influence on alternative and post-punk music is immeasurable. Their music continues to be celebrated and revered by fans and musicians alike, and their impact on the music world continues to be felt to this day.

Backing Tracks – She’s Lost Control

ListenSong TitleArtistGenreBVPriceBuy