Motown The Musical Backing Tracks

Motown The Musical

Motown The Musical Backing Tracks

The musical follows the career of Berry Gordy and the founding of the Motown Record Company.

ListenSong TitleArtistGenre



The story begins in 1983, on the evening of the 25th anniversary celebration of Motown, where Berry is looking back on his career:

At the Pasadena Civic Auditorium, recording stars are gathered to celebrate Motown Records’ 25th anniversary. In a flashback, the young Berry Gordy watches the neighbors dancing in Detroit. In 1957, the adult Berry forms his own record label, and begins to make lifelong friends with recording artists/singers such as Marvin Gaye and Smokey Robinson. Berry discovers the Supremes and Diana Ross, among many others.

The recording stars sing their popular numbers, including: Diana Ross (“I Hear a Symphony”, “You’re Nobody till Somebody Loves You”, and “You’re All I Need to Get By”), Stevie Wonder, The Supremes (“Buttered Popcorn”, “Where Did Our Love Go”), The Miracles (“Shop Around”), The Marvelettes (“Please Mr. Postman”), Mary Wells (“Bye Bye Baby”/”Two Lovers Medley”), The Temptations, Martha and the Vandellas (“Dancing in the Street”), The Contours (“Do You Love Me”), and The Jackson 5.

Motown Backing Tracks –

  • ABC – Jackson 5
  • Ain’t No Mountain High Enough – Diana Ross And The Supremes
  • Ain’t Too Proud To Beg – Temptations
  • All Night long – Lionel Richie
  • Baby I Need Your Loving – Four Tops
  • Ball Of Confusion – Temptations
  • Brick House – Commodores
  • Dancing In The Street – Martha And The Vandellas
  • Do You Love Me – The Contours
  • Get A Job – Silhouettes/Miracles
  • Get Ready – Temptations
  • Give It To Me Baby – Rick James
  • Good Morning Heartache – Diana Ross
  • Happy Birthday – Stevie Wonder
  • I Hear A Symphony – Diana Ross
  • I Heard It Through The Grapevine – Marvin Gaye
  • Lonely Teardrops – Jackie Wilson
  • Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology) – Marvin Gaye
  • My Girl – Temptations
  • My Guy – Mary Wells
  • Please Mr Postman – The Marvelettes
  • Reach Out I’ll Be There – Four Tops
  • Reet Petite – Jackie Wilson
  • Remember Me – Diana Ross
  • Shop Around – Miracles
  • Shotgun – Junior Walker And The Allstars
  • Sign, Sealed, Delivered – Stevie Wonder
  • Stop In The Name Of Love – Diana Ross
  • Super Freak – Rick James
  • The Happening  – Diana Ross And The Supremes
  • To Be Loved – Jackie Wilson
  • What’s Going On  – Marvin Gaye
  • You Really Got A Hold On Me – Smokey Robinson And The Miracles

Official UK Website